Inspired by Crowdfunding, I plan how to break up a complex projec tto smaller manageable stand alone projects and what they are...
I don’t know if the title is descriptive of the thought of this blog. But at the end this blog you will know what I mean. I knew for a long time that the Smart Home AC (SHAC) is a long shot for a startup with people and
money. Raising outside money is difficult and not preferred at this stage, who would trust my word that I could pull it off and stand against fortune 500 corporations. This is complex project and I would be venturing this mega task with an unproven team. The risks are too great. I also, started thinking of how
to tap into crowdfunding. Afterall, a whole house system of smart AC’s is not exactly that can be offered as a reward to contributors. Then suddenly it dawned on me to break up the project into parts. Each part could stand alone on itself as a complete product. It did not take me much time to figure this out. It was indeed very exiting when I got the epiphany. It might seem mundane to the reader but for me it was a break through chance for crowdfunding. If you are interested to know more about the separate projects that will lay the foundation of learning to enable Smart Home AC, then read on…

The smart home AC (SHAC) consists of four major areas of development – the Heat pump system, smart electronics, the cloud database application and user interfaces (see figure). I wanted to break out the
  refrigeration / Heat pump system and smart electronics. My first idea was to develop a suit of tools for home inspections starting with I-Phone IR camera. To my surprise there was just that on Kikcstarter. The project was successfully funded in Jan 2013, and raised $192K. Pretty impressive, isn’t it? But then I think I struck better luck with “Home Environment monitor” A plug in device that monitors home environment for comfort and purity. It is a tool to monitor your home environment for comfort and health. It monitors and informs the home owner of the temperature and humidity for comfort, and CO, NO, CO2 for health
and in future expand to mold, bacteria and pollen. The second idea is to develop a compact aesthetic window AC and heat pump. Something that can be easily hung to a window, and still be aesthetic and extremely quite. This would be something that could stand on its own with Kickstarter. I would like the electronics project to be the first and then followed by the smart window AC. 

In upcoming blogs I will write more on the details of the Home Monitor project.




Leave a Reply.